Meeting 8 – Adding images onto the cloud!!

Finally our cloud, matrix, is up and running, so now I can begin to add images onto it. The steps for adding images onto the cloud are found on the eucalyptus website, at http://open.eucalyptus.com/wiki/EucalyptusImageManagement_v2.0. I gave it a test but encounter a bug in the eucalyptus 1.3.1 version (this is the latest stable version as stated on the website, but there is a newer version, 1.3.2, on github, and I will test it out later to see if the bug is fixed), where the compiler stated that it couldn’t import one of the module when I tried to use euca-upload-bundle. So I searched for that file, correct the importation, and re-installed the eucalyptus. And that fixed the bug.

Now with that bug fixed, the adding ran smoothly and I got a kernel-image, a VM image, and a ramdisk image up on the cloud. But unfortunately, the instance couldn’t be ran. And I believe this is where eutester comes into play, I will be using it to test out our instance.

Overall, this was a valuable experience for me because I actually figured out and have a bug fixed. It makes me have a lot more confidence in what i’m doing.

Leave a comment